There are a lot of things in my life that I don’t have blog posts about, but that I obvi think it’s crucial for the world to know about. Seriously, I don’t know how the rest of you have been getting out of bed daily without knowing what I had for lunch on a random Friday two months ago. So, on Wednesdays we wear pink, and on Thursdays, I will post something that happened and that I never got around to blogging:

First up, I told you all about how I went to LA and that Abby picked up at the airport, Psych-style, but I stopped there and left you all breathlessly on the edge of your seats regarding any potential West Coast Shenanigans. And today, I’m only going to stimulate your tastebuds with my abhorrently bad food-tography of tasty things.

20140521-073233-27153336.jpg

Sometimes, I am shocked at things people come up with – and that they are so good. Who ever heard of putting cherries in rice? Added bonus of this restaurant (I forgot its name, sadly) is that the waiter was CLEARLY INFATUATED with my sister, and, of course, she was having none of that, no matter how much free pita she was provided.

20140521-073411-27251223.jpg

Of course, Will had to get his craft beer fix, and luckily, the team hotel (where, no, of course, we were not stalking the players…. it was just a lucky 45-minutes-from-Abby’s house-coincidence) was within walking distance of a crafty little brewery – Oggi’s. I liked the Torrey Pines IPA. I made a horrible food decision here – when a place is called “Pizza and Brewing,” you obvi shouldn’t order a piece of grilled chicken. Totally out-Whataburgered by Will this day.

20140521-073410-27250725.jpg

This calculated-ly hispter pie shop (The Pie Hole) was almost disappointingly simple, and full of people who looked like they might like “pi” equally as much as “pie,” but the pie we had was so good. Between the three of us, we split a piece of crostada (see above – chocolate, caramel, sea-salty goodness) and a piece of apple pie. And, we went totally Truvy from Steel Magnolias’ Cuppa Cuppa Cuppa with it – it was so rich we ate it with ice cream to cut the sweetness.

20140521-073232-27152608.jpg

26 Beach. I love this place. If they had it in San Antonio, I would go there all the time. Seriously. And, not just because you can eat a burger “green-style” (meaning on salad) and delude yourself into thinking the mound of processed beef, pig and goat you’re eating is healthy, BUT because it’s just so freaking adorable. Go look at the pictures of the Garden Room. If I ever get to the point in my life where I can become a full-time writer, somewhere like this is going to be my Les Deux Magots. OHHH, and let me tell you about this burger-salad. Heather would disagree with me, as she thinks the bun makes the burger, but this was one of the BEST burgers I have ever had – fresh beef with crispy goat cheese medallions, Medjool dates and bacon. I’m getting suddenly ravenously hungry just thinking about it.

20140521-073233-27153755.jpg

And to wrap it all up, time-travelling cookies. I say this because I’m pretty sure the good people at Diddy Riese must be doing the same thing as the diner owner in 11-22-63 (that’s not a spoiler – it’s right at the beginning of the book) does so he can keep serving college kids ridiculously cheap hamburgers. Really, there can be no other explanation why a cookie sandwich, which was about 30 times too big for me to finish only costs $1.75. Either that, or the people of Coldstone and Orange Leaf have been seriously preying on the hapless compulsions of we, the ice-cream addicted populace. The sandwich above is two fresh chocolate chip cookies, with peanut butter cup ice cream in the middle. Goodness. (PS Their website has a virtual ice cream sandwich maker – how cute is that?!).

Other things were eaten in the course of this trip, including a special dinner that I will write about later as part of another post, a mid-earthquake Mexican meal and a LOT of Goldfish crackers. But, maybe these are stories for other Thursdays.

 

 

